Skip to content

2018.05.22

May 22, 2018

Right before I left for Texas, I finished knitting my So Faded sweater.

Once I got home and caught up on laundry and housework, I wove in the ends, then blocked it out. Wore it to work as soon as it was dry:

In the interim I’ve been working on a sock project – this is my first attempt at an afterthought heel, using the Smooth Operator pattern, and I worked the heel while on the plane.

(In a standard sock knitting pattern, when you get to the heel, you stop knitting in circles and knit a square for the heel, then knit a few triangles to make things back into a circle, then continue down the foot.  In an afterthought heel you knit in a circle all the way, but add a few rows of waste yarn (in white below) – then you go back, pick out the waste yarn, and add a heel in its place).

And worked the foot and the toe on my flight home.

 

This is the first time in several years that I worked socks one at a time, but that heel makes it all worth it.

I bet someone has figured out how to do afterthought heels two-at-a-time…I’ll have to poke around and see.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.