Skip to content

2017.07.24

July 24, 2017

One of the larger aspirations I have as a parent is to make my kids as adventurous as possible.  Not to say I’m grooming the next Evel Knievel!  I just want them to be willing to try new things.

In a nutshell, it’s very easy to say “I don’t like that” without having tried it first.  I’m trying to get them to say “I’m not sure I would like that, but I will give it a try” more often.

To a certain extent, it’s working. They were very skittish about the idea of traveling by plane until we went to Washington last year, and now they don’t bat an eye at the idea of a flight.  They didn’t think they’d like roller coasters, but they were up for trying them at Universal Studios last month – and it turns out, they were right!  They don’t like them.  But at least they tried them.

Last week at camp Alistair tried ice skating, and liked it.

So, when the opportunity came up to go camping with some family friends last weekend, we decided to give it a try.  I have never camped out. Larry camped a couple of times as a kid, but never as an adult, and of course the boys never have.

So, a-camping we did go.

Five adults, five boys, two dogs.  One overnight trip.

           

It was great. The boys had a blast, the weather was wonderful, the adults shared the adulting, it was great.

Here’s to trying new things!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

