Skip to content

2017.03.16

March 16, 2017

Soooo, we had a little blizzard here on Tuesday.

They saw this one coming from days away, so there was plenty of time to batten down the hatches and plan accordingly. I was able to work at home. Larry had to go in, but took a half-day and came home at lunchtime.

Since it was Pi Day, I made a pie.

And no sooner did I put it in the oven when we lost power!  It was out for about 90 minutes.  I left the pie in the oven and checked it after the power came back, and it looked pretty darn good. I checked the internal temperature and it was in the range of “safe to eat chicken”, so I figured it would be plenty warm enough for pie.

It was.

For dinner I tried a new sheetpan method. With this one you put the vegetables in to roast, and then after about 20 minutes or so you add the meat on a raised rack. Give it another 20 minutes or so, and voila.

Next time I will add broccoli or cauliflower to the mix, I think. But really, almost any vegetable is delicious after roasting for 40 minutes at 450.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

