Skip to content

2017.03.09

March 9, 2017

Tried my hand at making shawarma the other night.

I love the savory flavors of the eastern Mediterranean, and I thought this might be a mild way to introduce them to the boys.

Classic shawarma is made like gyro meat; a variety of meats are combined and pressed onto a rotisserie and cooked for hours.  I was not quite up for that challenge, so I found a few recipes that use the shawarma flavor on chicken thighs in a baked/grilled/roasted application, and went from there.

I used the same spice blend on a mixture of cauliflower, asparagus and onion. Tossed it all together into a bowl and served with naan and a yogurt sauce.

Larry and I almost think the vegetables were better than the chicken. The boys preferred the chicken. I’m the only one who used the yogurt sauce, but there were four clean plates and no complaints. I’m calling that a win.

Here is the recipe I followed:  https://food52.com/blog/18970-a-spicy-smoky-shawarma-inspired-sheet-pan-dinner

Enjoy!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

