Skip to content

2017.01.06

January 6, 2017

Given the holidays and school vacation, we’ve fallen into a little bit of a dinner rut over the past week or so.

But the new year is in full effect now, and we are back into the groove.

 

Anyway, in a nutshell our weeknight dinner plan is this:

  • Each family member chooses one dinner menu a week.
  • In exchange they lose the right to complain or veto any other dinner menu during the week.
  • We have takeout every Friday.
  • Weekends are wild-card dinners. Sometimes we are at a relative’s house for a dinner, or sometimes we eat leftovers, or sometimes we decide as a family what to have for dinner.

It’s been a few years since we started this strategy, but it’s still going strong – almost six years later.

(I have to tell you, when I went back and read that post, I had to stop and close my eyes for a minute. Holy moly, how the time does fly.)

The picks are generally announced on Friday nights, so that I can buy any necessary ingredients during my Saturday morning shopping trip.

Oh, we are a normal family, and everyone has their moments. Who has suddenly decided to not like broccoli, who only likes mashed potatoes not roasted, etc.  In general, I would say 98 percent of the time there is very little argument at the table.

For my picks, sometimes I pick comfort food I know they’ll eat without complaint, but more often I try to experiment. I have almost 500 pins on my “delish” board on Pinterest, so I often skim through that list to see if anything rings my bell. Sometimes they are a hit, sometimes not. These experimental dinners are rated by the family with thumbs-up, thumbs-down, thumbs-level.

My favorite is when something I tried ends up as someone’s pick of the week a few weeks later. It makes all the rest worthwhile.

This past week’s experiment was from Skinnytaste: One Skillet Chicken with Bacon and Green Beans (thumbs up all around).

Going forward I will keep you in the loop periodically with dinners and recipes.  I used to post recipes pretty regularly, and they’re all archived over here, but I’ve fallen off that wagon too.  I will try to get better.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

