Skip to content

2016.12.27

December 27, 2016

We had a wonderful Christmas and I hope you did too.

On Christmas Eve we made cookies for Santa,

img_0433

sprinkled reindeer food on the lawn,

img_0435

put on our new Christmas pajamas and went to bed early.

img_0446

Santa came through as always and brought the boys exactly what they asked for

img_0450

img_0452

And mom and dad got them a pile of gifts too.

Larry got me a gorgeous shawl kit – the yarn is cashmere.  Swoon…!

img_0455

On Boxing Day we dropped off a few items to a few different charity collections, and then went for a walk at the local conservation park.  Everyone wore the Christmas hats I made them, which made me very happy.

img_0459

And then after supper we used 24 batteries to power the laser tag set the boys got…

img_0464

It’s the time of year when people are thinking about their goals for next year.  Mine are essentially the same as they were last year: continue on the path of eating healthily and getting plenty of exercise.

A quick check-in on the specific goals I set for myself in 2016:

  • I ran 275 miles in 2015 and set myself a goal of 300 for 2016.
    As of this moment I’m at 307 and we still have a few days to go.  One of the other gifts Larry got me was a six-month subscription to a running-challenge box shipment, so my plan for 2017 is to follow the beginner challenges from January-June and the intermediate ones July-December. No specific mileage goal this year, although I would like to get a little faster.
  • I also hoped to read 12 books in 2016 (a book a month).
    I’m thrilled to report that I have read 34 books this year. I don’t expect to smash that record anytime soon, but if I could complete another 12 in 2017 I’ll be content.

Lastly, for the past few years I’ve tried to reach my daily step goal 15 days a month, which is 180 days a year. As of this writing I’ve met my goal 213 days in 2016, so I don’t see why I shouldn’t continue that in 2017.

Here’s to a happy, healthy 2017.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

