Skip to content

2016.11.15

November 15, 2016

My cold hasn’t gone away yet, and I have managed to share it with the whole family.  Between professional development days and Veterans’ Day, the boys only had three days of school last week, and only actually made it to school once. Sigh.

Which made a challenging week a manic one for me. I was scheduled to attend a conference for work Wednesday-Friday, so my support team really had to rally.  Larry took the day off Wednesday to stay home with the boys, then my parents and my mother-in-law did a relay on Thursday and Friday to keep everything together for me.  I really am lucky that everyone lives nearby!

About that conference, it’s called Inbound and it’s targeted for Sales and Marketing people.  It is a massive conference – nearly 19,000 people in attendance this year.  I am very grateful that my company sends us to this event.

img_0268

This was my second year attending, and I will say that while I learned a lot about sales and marketing, I got a lot more out of it from a personal development standpoint this year.

Which was good.  Between the journal and meditation things I’ve begun, and the results of Tuesday’s election, it was a good time to stop and really think about things in a big-picture way.

Like Angela Duckworth’s talk about Grit. How success is actually not just about talent, it’s more about hard work.  Like in this slide, where she shows that talent and skill are factors, but effort counts twice.

img_0235

And even the search-engine experts had some very existential slides.

img_0269

Because it was so local, it was better/easier to take public transportation than to drive.  So bonus points for me because I got to commute with Larry.

 

img_0253

In between everything, I finally decided that this was the year I was going to participate in National Knit a Sweater Month (NaKniSweMo). I cast on for this on November 1, and I think I have a good chance of finishing it by the 30th.

img_0280

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

