Skip to content

2016.10.25

October 25, 2016

I turned 46 on Saturday.

Oh, I know age is only a number, and in truth I feel generally healthier than I have in a long time. Nonetheless I always get a couple of days’ worth of the blues around my birthday. File it under “coming to grips with my own mortality” I guess.

But then of course the day itself arrives, and with it some treats and good times, and nothing’s better than chasing the blues away, right?

Larry got me a nice bracelet.

img_0137

 

The line itself is a quote from A Midsummer Night’s Dream, “Though she be but little, she is fierce”.

There was a card in the bracelet box with a longer sentiment:

She is brave, she is strong.
She will get up whenever she falls.
She knows herself inside and out.
And although she may face challenges
she will face them with courage and hope.
And though she be but little, she is fierce.

I love it.  I love the bracelet, I love the giver of the present, I love the sentiment.

The bracelet is made by a company called Mantra Band, and I think that about sums it up. I look at it on my wrist every day, take a deep breath, and carry on.

 

We had family over for dinner Friday night, and on Sunday the four of us went to Legal’s to cap off my birthday weekend.

Only at Legal’s can you order a steamed lobster from the children’s menu.  Alistair was thrilled!

img_0143

(Larry and I were too, it was a lot cheaper than ordering him a lobster from the regular menu, and only slightly smaller.  Plus fries and a drink!)

Given the option of any item on the children’s menu, Larson opted for a hot dog.  To each his own.

img_0148

It was a very happy birthday weekend for me.

img_0147

One Comment leave one →
  1. R A Jongeneelen permalink
    October 28, 2016 12:59 pm

    Happy birthday! Blessings and happiness to you and your family – all year round. It’s been awhile since I’ve visited your blog. You’re glowing.

Leave a Reply

