Skip to content

2016.10.14

October 14, 2016

At work we are in the early stages on 2017 planning.  As you’d expect, it involves a lot of “what worked/didn’t work in 2016” and a fair bit of blue-sky thinking.

So it makes sense that I’ve been spending a bit of time thinking about the next few months as it relates to my personal life.

Stuff like figuring out how many people we are hosting for Thanksgiving, finding out what all the kids want for Christmas, remembering to schedule the furnace maintenance (that happened on Monday, actually) and making sure the snowblower is in working order.

You know, making lists and checking things off them.

And in terms of thinking about my own Christmas wish list, which is always sort of a struggle for me, I got to thinking about whether I should ask for a journal for 2017.

There are lots out there, of course. No shortage of blank-page notebooks and formatted planners, lord knows.  I find the variety to be kind of intimidating.

Do I want ruled pages or blank? How about dots or grids?

Do I want softcover or hard-bound?

In the past week or so I’ve been poking around the internets and looking at different formats.

Facebook and Instagram notice those sorts of things, as you may know. So journals of all types have been showing up in my various feeds.

I’ve looked at them all. I’ve begun to make a list (yes, another list) of the features of each one that I like.  There are a lot of individual features that I like, but no one format has everything I like without also adding a bunch of stuff I don’t need and won’t use.

I’m still tinkering with formats in my little practice journal. For example, next week I’m trying out a weekly summary page in addition to daily pages.  I expect that I will continue to adjust and adapt my journaling, not just through the end on 2016, but probably for as long as I keep journaling.

So I’m thinking I’m going to stick with the undated journal-type notebook for 2017.

At least, that’s what I think today.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

