Skip to content

2016.07.27

July 27, 2016

And now for something completely different:  a word about organizational tools.

First of all, you should know that I am a list-making freak.  I make lists for everything. I make lists that refer to items on other lists.

I use the Remember the Milk app for work and personal to-do’s,

I use GoodReads for books (those I’ve read and those I want to read),

I use Evernote where I keep notes, recipes, and recurring lists (Christmas shopping lists, Thanksgiving menus, family vacation packing lists).

I use a combination of Ravelry and a battered Moleskine notebook to keep track of my knitting stuff.

I have a notebook to keep track of stuff we plant in the garden, and how things go each year.

I use My Fitness Pal for food tracking, and Garmin Connect for step and activity tracking (they talk to each other, so the information cross-posts).

Some things also wind up in the Notes or Reminders app on my phone.

I have a weekly schedule hanging in my kitchen, where I list the dinner menu for each night, appointments for the family (color-coded), and any events that may be happening.

Each summer I have my boys keep a summer journal, where each day they write a sentence and draw a picture about their favorite thing about that day.

For work I keep a paper notebook, where every evening I make a list for the next day: to-do’s, as well as appointments.  As the day goes on and other things need to happen, they are added to the list in the notebook. I also use it for meeting notes.

Taken together, it all works pretty well.  But it’s not perfect. There are times when I write something in the margin of my work notebook that I actually need at home, but I don’t have it.  There are times when I forget where I saved something, and have to scour through all sources to find it.

Over the past few weeks I’ve been seeing references to bullet journals and bullet journaling.  I was intrigued.  I’m not much of a journaler, but they seem to be largely a series of lists collected into a single book, which is something I do like.

I used a planner for many years – first the DayTimer, then the DayRunner, and then the Franklin – and I’m not convinced I want to go back to carrying a notebook at all times, but then again maybe I do.

Anyway, I will periodically post about my attempts at this new thing; please bear with me.

In the meantime, here are a couple of sources about bullet journals that may be interesting:

http://bulletjournal.com/

http://www.thelazygeniuscollective.com/blog/how-to-bullet-journal

http://www.mydomaine.com/bullet-journal-review/

 

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

