Skip to content

2016.07.15

July 15, 2016

Last fall – on Halloween, no less – one of my co-workers learned her son had leukemia.

We are so lucky to live in the Boston area; some of the best hospitals and medical research facilities in the world are within a short drive.  He entered treatment immediately, and I’m happy to say that while he will continue to be in treatment for another 18 months, he is in remission.

It is of course horrible to hear of anyone having cancer, but then it’s a small boy.  And then it’s a small boy who’s only six weeks younger than Larson – she and I were pregnant together – and it’s just that much harder, that much of a reality check. You know?

So when our company decided to do the Jimmy Fund Cancer Walk as a team this coming September, I was in.  There are many distances of the walk, but the group decided to do the 10k.  Sure thing, I’m still in.

But then, one of the founding partners announced he intends to do the full 26.2 mile walk (the Jimmy Fund walk uses the Boston Marathon route).  And then Luke’s mom announces she will too.  And then well, what can I say?

Now in addition to my 25 miles in a month, I’m working my way up to walking 26.2 miles in a single day.

I’m all in.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

