Skip to content

2016.06.30

June 30, 2016

At the beginning of the year I set myself a couple of goals.  Nothing too ambitious, just enough to keep myself motivated.

  • I wanted to run 300 miles over the course of 2016.
  • I wanted to read 12 books in 2016.
  • And I didn’t specifically publish this, but since I started wearing a fitness tracker thingie my goal is always to meet my ‘step goal’ 15 days out of every month.

So here we are on June 30th, which feels like a good time for a midyear check-in.  To stay on track I should have 150 miles in, 6 books read, and 72 ‘goal achieved’ days.

I’m happy to report that as of this moment, I’ve:

  • run 165.3 miles
  • read 16 books
  • met my step goal 102 days

I’m very pleased with myself, I have to admit.  I don’t feel like I’ve been terribly pressured to do any of it, although the step goal has proven to be harder than I thought.  I use Garmin devices on their ‘dynamic goal’ setting mode, so that every day that you meet your goal, the next day’s goal is a little higher, and every day you miss your goal, the next day’s goal is a little lower.  So it definitely keeps me honest.  I feel like I am in a good place to meet all of my goals at the end of December.

You might have noticed I didn’t include any weight-loss goals up there.  At the end of the year I felt like my weight was in a reasonably good place for my age.  However over the remainder of the winter things had taken a turn, and the needle on the scale crept up a little higher each week… So in April I started myself on a little weight-loss program, where I began tracking my food with My Fitness Pal and ramping up my exercise schedule.  During the week I run two days and follow exercise videos three days, and do a long run each weekend.  After twelve weeks I’m pleased to say that I’ve lost a little over 8 pounds, which gets me back to my pre-Larson weight.  If I lost another 12 pounds I’d be at my pre-Alistair/wedding-dress weight, but I don’t really feel the need to go quite that far.

Now the big challenge will be to keep it off – that’s where the wheels usually fall off for me.

So, the theme for the second half of 2016 is “steady as she goes”.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

