Skip to content

2016.05.31

May 31, 2016

The Fourth Grade violin concert was last week – Alistair’s school and another elementary school in town played together.

IMG_8872

IMG_8878

IMG_8881

IMG_8906

The very next morning was the school’s Memorial Day program.  Somehow Alistair always ends up in the front row, despite not being a particularly enthusiastic singer.

IMG_8911

And sure enough, before too long he wasn’t paying attention at all.  Ah well.

IMG_8918

On Sunday we went on a geocache hike to a lesser-known part of the Middlesex Fells.  We were up there for more than an hour, and saw only two other people – that never happens.

IMG_8931

You come suddenly upon a clearing with a crazy old tower.

IMG_8935

The view from the top isn’t as spectacular as some others in the Fells; the tower isn’t tall enough.  Plus is was pretty overcast.

Nonetheless, we managed to find two geocaches – including Larson finding his first one!

IMG_8933

And then Larry found the second one, in the parking lot.

IMG_8948

Monday was Memorial Day, and I participated in the Wear Blue: Run to Remember initiative.  I’m very fortunate to say that everyone I know who has been deployed, has returned.  So I asked for a fallen soldier to run for, and was assigned Marine Captain Jesse Melton III.  I printed out my bib, pinned it to my blue shirt, and went out.  It was raining, so I zipped up my rain jacket and put on a hat first.  I had planned to run 3 miles, but since I can run and Captain Melton no longer can, I did 3.5 in his memory. I feel honored to be able to do so.

IMG_8958

 

If you are interested in learning more about Wear Blue: Run to Remember, click here: http://www.wearblueruntoremember.org/

To learn about Captain Melton, click here: http://thefallen.militarytimes.com/marine-capt-jesse-melton-iii/3719578

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

