Skip to content

2015.08.24

August 24, 2015

A week or two ago I saw this tweet from Alton Brown:

Capture

 

Now, my kids love them some watermelon.  So I clicked the link – it’s a recipe for pickled watermelon rinds.

Now, my husband loves him some pickles; we have been putting up roughly a gallon of pickles a week through July and August.  I figured, why not?

So the next time we got a watermelon, I harvested the rinds, and peeled and diced them.

11880394_10206166839801788_8907784058571125314_n

And then it was as simple as A, B, C.  I followed the directions and put the jars into the fridge.

11891065_10206166840081795_6551708118142177541_n

Let them sit for a couple of days, and we had the big unveiling on Friday.  Which went over with a dull thud.

Not that they aren’t tasty; I kind of like them.  The problem, I think, lies in the name.  If they were called, say,  “preserved watermelon rinds”, everyone would have been happier.   But these guys, they hear the magic word – “pickle” – and their mind goes to dill and garlic and vinegar.  These aren’t that sort of pickle.  They are spicy and sweet and somewhat Asian-inspired; they are not herby or garlicky in any way.

So…we have about 3 1/2 jars to go.  I can’t bring myself to throw them away!  I will bring a jar to work later this week and see what my colleagues think.

Here’s the recipe if you’re intrigued:  http://altonbrown.com/watermelon-rind-pickles-recipe/

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

