Skip to content

2014.11.21

November 21, 2014

Autumn is in full swing here.  Actually, since it’s been in the 20’s all week, I think autumn might be on the way out, regardless of what the calendar says. Brrrr!

On Sunday we buttoned up the backyard for the year.  Mowed over the leaves before bagging them up, stowed the outdoor furniture and the grill in the garage, and switched parking spots for the lawnmower and the snowblower.

IMG_3591

IMG_3594

Which can only mean one thing:  Thanksgiving is coming.  Actually, it’s next week!  Here is our menu:

Vegetable leek soup
Dry-brined spatchcocked turkey
Cornbread stuffing
Brussels sprouts with chorizo and almonds
Parmesan roasted butternut squash
Dry-fried green beans
Mashed potatoes
dinner rolls
cranberry sauce

We will of course have a variety of pies and desserts, but that’s not my department so I can’t say for sure what we’ll have.

This is the first time we’re going to try the spatchcocked method; we’ve done it with chicken but never with turkey.  But Bon Appetit magazine says it’s great, so we figured we might as well shake things up once in a while.

I’ve done very little prep up to this point; so I’m once again taking next week off from work to clean and cook, and then clean again.  I have gone so far as to pull out my Thanksgiving packet, where I keep all of the recipes from year to year.  I’m trying something new – last night I typed all of the ingredients for all of the items into a spreadsheet, then created a pivot table to tally up the totals for each one.  Maybe that’s a little pathetic of me, but I am determined to not have to make a panicked trip to the grocery store on Wednesday night.

Every year since 2006 I’ve been making handknit ornaments for the kids.  I don’t think I could stop now if I wanted to, they look forward to it so much.  I never tell them what they’ll be, and I package them up so they can’t peek until after dessert.  It’s a silly little tradition, but it’s one of my favorites.  I finished the 2014’s just the other night:

IMG_3617

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

