Skip to content

2014.10.14

October 14, 2014

I guess I’ve let things slide on the blog a bit.  Sorry!

Larson started preschool earlier in October.  I wish I could say that he was all smiles from the first day, but it isn’t true.

He his mood started to darken in the car on the way over.

IMG_3223

But he was okay walking through the parking lot and up to the door.

IMG_3231

But we were a little early, and I guess he had time to digest what was about to happen.

IMG_3238

 

Real tears.  Ugh.

The second week was more of the same – I tried lingering in the classroom, then leaving immediately.  My dad dropped him off instead of me, and he also tried lingering vs leaving right away.  All to no avail.  Tears, sobbing, clinging, the whole separation misery routine.  Ugh.

The teachers have been champions.  They say that he calms down within a few minutes of my departure, and that he is a dream for the rest of the day.  He is unfailingly all smiles by the time I pick him up.  The teachers say this is routine, and that he’ll get the hang of it in another week or two.  And I do believe that.  It’s just – the guilt, the horrible mommy guilt.  Leaving a building and hearing your child crying for you as you leave him behind is one of the worst feelings.  Ugh.

Today I let him bring his Mario and Luigi plushies in his backpack, and he was finished crying before I left the room.  Progress!  I’ll take it.

 

Speaking of progress…may I present the first completed Christmas knitting of 2014.

IMG_3289

It’s for Larry.  I have three more hats and then seven ornaments to go.  The ornaments have to be done by Thanksgiving, but I’m not too worried.  Yet.  I’ve even started a non-Christmas project.  For myself.

IMG_3295

This yarn has been in my stash since approximately 2007.  It was originally part of a kit for a stole, but at this point I can’t even guess where the printout is.  It will become a cowl.

Lastly, I wanted to tell you that Alistair’s art classes have resumed for the fall.  He brought home this still life last week, and I love it so much I framed it and hung it at my desk at work.

IMG_3294

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

