Skip to content

2014.05.09

May 9, 2014

So there’s this whole new diet movement sweeping the nation, maybe you’ve heard of it.  It’s called Vegetarian until Dinner, or Vegetarian until 6pm, or a variation on the theme.  In a nutshell, you eat meat only once a day.

There’s another whole movement sweeping Pinterest.  It’s called “salad in a jar”.  The basic theory is, if you stack things into a jar or generally upright container in a certain order, all ingredients maintain their integrity until you dump the whole concoction out onto a dish.

In my ever-loving quest for nutrition balance and not looking like a fat pig, I’ve decided to embrace the “VB6” mentale to a certain extent – my version is called “try to eat meat only once a day”.    I’ve been a fan of Mark Bittman for years; many of the recipes from his Minimalist cookbooks are staples of our kitchen.  So it wasn’t a hard sell to me.

However, it’s not as simple as it sounds.  A lack of planning my lunch leads to wandering around the cafeteria, which ends badly; deliciously, but badly.  And poor planning leads to mac & cheese too many times in a week, which isn’t particularly healthy either.

And so, in the course of finding balance with the first theory, I’ve tried out the second one this week.  Twice.

We had burritos for dinner on Monday, so I had some peppers/onions/black beans left in the fridge.  It was easy enough to stack those in a quart jar, followed by an avocado, a tomato, some tortilla chips, some shredded cheese (in this case it was string cheese, but hey), and then some Romaine on top.

photo 1

photo 2

 

While it admittedly looks a lot more attractive in the jar than it does on the plate, it was delicious, a generous amount of food, and plenty filling.

Last night as I packed up another jar, I realize that I need to plan better going forward.  By Thursday night all we had left were a couple of sad tomatoes, a little Swiss cheese, and the tail end of the lettuce.  I didn’t even take a picture, it was so pathetic.  I had to supplement my lunch today with a grilled cheese, and at 4:07pm I’m starving.

Still, it was no more complicated that packing lunch any other night.   Switching between the occasional sandwich and weeknight leftovers, I feel fairly confident that this is something I can do a few times a week.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Patty permalink
    May 28, 2014 3:48 pm

    I really, really need to do that. Really.

Leave a Reply

