Skip to content

2014.01.24

January 24, 2014

Lots of knitting going on around here lately…it’s pretty nice when you don’t have any project deadlines and can knit what you want, when you want.

I need to remember that next fall.

First, the moebius.

DSCN3571

Non-knitters are saying, “oh, an infinity scarf.  Big whoop.”

Knitters are saying, “aha, a moebius”.

Because what happens with a moebius is, there’s only one edge – see that twist in the middle?  It means you knit both “edges” at once.  In this case I knit with the orange yarn until I ran out, then switched to the yellow yarn.  Only once, not twice.  Yet the yellow seems to be both on the top and the bottom.  It’s magical.

With the bonus of using a really posh yarn, this thing is awesome.  I’ve been wearing it regularly, in various iterations:

DSCN3573  DSCN3574

Next up, a hat I knocked out in less than a week.  Would have finished it in a single weekend if I had put a little thought into the gauge and needle size thing, but whatever.

DSCN3577

DSCN3576

Full disclosure, I’m not in love with it.  The look is okay, and it’s definitely warm, but something – maybe it’s because it’s garter, maybe because my hair is very straight, maybe something else – something makes it creep up to the top of my head.  It’s actually worked its way almost off a couple of times.  Not sure what to do about that.

Then the other week I saw this new book mentioned in the Knitter’s Review.  A book full of slipper patterns, called (wait for it) “The Knitted Slipper Book“.  I bought it on a whim.

The first thing I noticed is that a lot of the patterns were felted.  Felting and I have not really been friends.  But she gives really specific instructions on felting in a bowl in the kitchen sink, and I figured, why not?  I did a little dive into the stash, and cast on for the Options flats.  A couple of hours on Sunday and a couple more on Monday, and the knitting was finished.

After dinner on Monday night I set myself up for the felting.  Fearing the worst but hoping for the best.  And about 40 minutes later, would you believe?  I had a pair of slippers.

Stuffed them with packing paper and left on the radiator overnight.  Tuesday night I smeared fabric paint on the soles for traction, and made myself a pair of little pom-poms with scrap yarn from who knows what.

And by Wednesday…

IMG_1244

Seriously, try felting something in the sink.  It’s totally worth it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

