Skip to content

2013.11.12

November 12, 2013

Let’s recap.

There was Halloween, with trick or treating and too much candy.

photo 1 (6)

This afternoon we’re making brownies with Snickers in the middle to use up the last of the candy.

Then a few days later Alistair slipping down some stairs at my mother-in-law’s and fractured a bone in his foot; he’s in a knee-high cast and is relegated to using crutches for another couple of weeks.

(Ordinarily I’d have a photo of him and/or his cast here, but he keeps saying he’s not in the mood for a picture)

This past weekend I went to my first Stitches event.  As overwhelming as it was – and it was – I stuck to the austerity plan for the most part:

photo 2 (5)

Not shown here is a Namaste Zuma handbag that I intended to have Larry give me for Christmas.  That notion lasted about 12 hours; I’m using the purse already.  Hey, he has plenty of time to shop for Christmas presents, right?

On November 1 I started my first-ever NaKniSweMo (aka National Knit a Sweater Month) project: the Mondo Cable Vest. I’m through the shoulder shaping and the neckband already, now to knit all of the body.  It’s only November 12th but I think I’ve got a decent shot at finishing by the 30th.

Just before Halloween I cast on for Larry’s Christmas knitting, the Quay scarf.  Between all the goings-on I was able to get the cast-on and the setup rows finished, and over this past weekend I worked the first cable repeat.

photo 1 (3)

Thirty rows, four hours.  And there are another SIXTEEN repeats to go. This might be the first year I wrap up an on-the-needles project for Christmas.

So all in all, it’s been a busy couple of weeks.  But I’m starting to come to grips with the fact that EVERY couple of weeks is going to be a busy couple of weeks.  And understand that I just plain cannot get everything done.

Really, I can only do my best.  Which on most days isn’t spectacular anyway.

But it’s getting to be the holiday season, and I’m really going to make an effort to focus on what’s important:

photo 3 (6) photo 2 (4)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

