Skip to content

2013.08.16

August 16, 2013

Guess what I did yesterday?

 

photo-001

 

 

Yep.  I ran 3.1 miles – otherwise known as 5k.

Crazy, right?

Granted, I’m not breaking any land-speed records, but I’m pretty dang proud of myself; I’ve come a long way in three months, baby.

I signed up for my first official 5k race the other day, too.  It’s on Labor Day weekend, which gives me a couple more weeks to get used to the distance.  As an added bonus, the race is nice and flat, which my regular routes are not.

As for my strength regimen, I’m on Day 24 of the 30-Day Burpee challenge; I started at 5 burpees and today’s number is 80.  I’ve also been continuing with squats and crunches every day, although once I get to 100 burpees I’m going to change things up a bit, and alternate run days with strength days.   Up til now I’ve been doing the strength exercises every night, but by them I’m tired (and usually an adult beverage or two into the relaxation portion of my day).

So I think alternating days is going to work out better for me in the long run.

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 20, 2013 8:15 am

    I would say 7:04 pace counts as a land speed record for a full-time working mother of two who get’s a lot done in addition to that! WOW! Nice job!

Leave a Reply

