Skip to content

2013.08.14

August 14, 2013

Had back-to-back showers this past weekend, for my two October brides.  Whose weddings are on back-to-back weekends.

The purses were completed in time, and have been gifted.  So at last I can show you the fruits of my labor.

This little number has dowels for handles, covered up by the yarn.  The bride decided against a lining or any sort of closure, so I sewed the side seams up to the dowels and it’s pretty secure in there.  I put my phone and chapstick in there and tossed the purse around a little bit, and nothing fell out.  I don’t expect a bride to have much more than that in her purse on her wedding day – do you?  (Pattern from the book 101 One-Skein Wonders, and details can be found here. )

photo (17)

 

The second purse looks quite imposing.  On paper, it was intimidating – entrelac, in the ROUND?! – but I read the instructions through before I started, and in truth once you get the first row out of the way it’s completely logical.  I owe a debt of gratitude to the wonderful salesperson at Webs who spent a lot of time helping me choose the perfect three yarns.

photo (20)

I had no initial intention of putting a lining into this one, but one of the yarns is pretty open (although they’re all worsted), so it really needed a lining.  The designer said to just use a bank deposit bag (!) for a lining, which is a genius idea and I bought a clear one and it fit perfectly!  But then you could see the shiny plastic through the yarn, so I felt it needed a proper lining too.

photo (19)

 

The black zipper is the only part of the bank bag that is visible, but it give the bag just the right amount of structure.  Genius, Genius idea.  (The pattern is in the book Entree to Entrelac, and the details can be found here.)

photo (18)

 

And now with these out of the way, I can knit whatever I want.  Until September 1 when I begin Christmas knitting.  And knitting for a January bride.  And maybe a shawl for me to wear to one of these October weddings….

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 15, 2013 10:44 am

    Lucky brides!

Leave a Reply

