Skip to content

2013.06.27

June 27, 2013

I’m still plugging along on my Couch to 5k journey; I will complete Week Six tomorrow.

Last Friday’s plan (the last day of Week Five) stated the following:

“Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then run 20 minutes (2 miles) with no walking”

That command caught my eye at the beginning of Week One, and has been stuck in my head all along.  I thought “how on earth am I gonna be able to run for 20 minutes IN A ROW?”  But I have to tell you, I did it.  I ran for 20 minutes in a row, without stopping to walk at all.

Granted, I only made it to 1.99 miles, but hey.  I’m not interested in breaking any land-speed records here.  I subsequently broke the two-mile mark twice this week so far, admittedly on scheduled interval days (run for a while, walk for a while, run for a while).  Tomorrow’s run is another straight-up running day, for 22 minutes.

For the first time in this whole endeavor I’m not intimidated by the next plan, I feel fairly confident that I can do it.  So confident, in fact, that I signed up for a local trail run.

I don’t know that I consider myself a “runner” per se, but the prospect of a twenty-minute run doesn’t scare me the way it did a couple of months ago.

As far as training goes for the Spartan race, I’ve been doing some strength exercises as well.  I just finished the 30-day Squat challenge that’s all over the internet (and restarted it again the day after).  I started the 30-day Crunch challenge a few weeks ago, too.  I had every intention of adding the 30-day Push-Up challenge to the mix, but the first day called for 45 pushups!  I can’t do 45 pushups even if I do them the girly way!  So I cut the stated numbers in half, and am plugging along that way.  Once I get through 30 days at half-rate, I will start the real challenge.  My plan is to repeat all three of these throughout the summer.

Know what’s funny, though?  I haven’t lost a pound through all of this.  Oh, I know they say muscle weighs more than fat, blah blah blah, but I don’t think I’ve gotten any slimmer or more compact either.  Dammit!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 27, 2013 3:56 pm

    I’ll bet you have changed physically already! And congratulations…you ARE a runner! Nice to hear from you again! 😉 Thanks for the anniversary wishes!

Leave a Reply

