Skip to content

2013.05.10

May 10, 2013

Once upon a time I was a fairly active individual; I’d think nothing of going on a long walk, half-day hike, or a bike ride, or on a rock-climbing weekend on a whim.  I did yoga several times a week, even.

And then I discovered great food, some of the finer points of cooking, and the joys of wine.  I also had two children.

In short, I got lazy.

Oh, I still bust out a yoga DVD every now and again, and I still like to take the kids on a long walk in the woods or along the shore, but that’s about the extent of it.

And then a few weeks ago a co-worker of mine completed a Spartan Race at Citi Park (aka Mets Stadium).  Now, I’d heard of Tough Mudder and used to be an avid watcher of the Eco-Challenge, but I’d never heard of a Spartan Race.  (you can read all about it here)

She said they’re having one at Fenway this fall, and did we want to set up a team to race it together?

Now, I don’t like running, but I do like (well, used to like) being active.  I figured this might be a good way to commit to more exercise.  So, I registered.

And then immediately had an “oh sh*t” moment.

And then another one.

And then I googled “Couch to 5k“.  I figured that would be a good starting point.

I’ve been alternating a running day with a yoga day, to keep myself stretched out or whatever.  On the weekends I run whenever I can fit it in (and limit it to one run per weekend), but on weekdays I get up early and run before I get into the shower.

I finished the third leg of Week 2 this morning.  I am not dead yet – in fact, I feel reasonably good.

The funny thing is, I get into the shower at the same time as I did before I started this; there’s really no impact to my schedule other than 25 minutes less in bed.  And the fact of the matter is the kids are already awake by then, so I’m already awake by then – it was purely a matter of GETTING up, not WAKING up.

I figure I’ll start strength or something during Week 4 – but for now, the running/yoga combination is working for me.

I don’t expect to become a running fanatic or anything, but with any luck at all I’ll get somewhat fitter throughout this process, and who knows?  Maybe I’ll even keep it up after the race.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

