Skip to content

2012.08.23

August 23, 2012

Betwixt and between real life, I’ve been knitting along.

I cast on some socks during vacation, and finished them last week:

Image

I finally finished the big pink blob last Wednesday.  
ImageImage

I bound off, whipped it around my shoulders, and checked myself out in the mirror.  

And saw what the knitters out there see in the photo above – a big gaping hole.

Here’s a closer look:

Image

 

I cannot figure out what happened there.  The pattern is elongated garter stitch, so you knit one, yo, knit one on the odd rows, and knit one, drop one on the even rows.  I may have done two yo’s in a row, I may have dropped a yo and a knit…no idea.

I fiddled with it for a few minutes to see if I could fix it, but I was clearly only making things worse.  I took a deep breath, would off a couple of feet of the leftover yarn, and packed it away.  I will bring it with me to my next Guild meeting, where there is no shortage of expert knitters, and I’m sure someone will be able to determine what went wrong AND help me to fix it.

I hope.

I also started the first Christmas stocking, and despite being 32 stitches shorter around than the ones I made last year, it’s not quite ready for a close up yet.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

