Skip to content

2012.05.01

May 1, 2012

I may have overestimated my knitting time…I can’t imagine a scenario where the sweater is finished by next Thursday’s meeting.

I am past the armholes now, and have probably 6 inches of body still to go.  It’s all reverse stockinette, with only two increase rows before the hem, so it should be pretty straightforward.  It IS pretty straightforward!  It’s just a long way to go when I’m only managing 4 rows a night.  To say nothing of the sleeves.

Revised goal:  to finish it before the JUNE meeting.  Ha.

The sweater is Cerisara, by Chicknits.  I’m pretty excited to have it finished – I’m using a wool/silk blend from KnitPicks, so I think it’ll be perfect for air conditioning and cool nights.

As for my portable project, I’ve only taken it out of the bag once since my last post, so who knows when it’ll be finished.  It’s the famous Hitchhiker scarf/wrap/shawlette.   I bought the yarn at last year’s Sheep and Wool Festival; it’s a superwash fingering-weight by Bittersweet Woolery, and the colorway is called Zombie Princess.

5,275 knitters can’t be wrong, right?  Hitchhiker is pretty addictive, despite my lack of progress.  It’s an 8-row repeat, and the last row makes a little sawtooth on the edge.  You just keep going until the yarn is gone, or until you lose interest, whichever comes first.

Maybe I’ll focus on the Hitchiker for next week’s meeting…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

