Skip to content

2012.04.24

April 24, 2012

I don’t know about you, but I’ve been in a bit of a funk for the last six weeks or so.  I sort of lost my knitting mojo for a while there.

Oh, I finished the Easter knitting and all, but the sweater sat untouched for days on end.  Not from being too busy, either; just pure lack of interest.

I almost talked myself out of going to the last Guild meeting, even.  I was a little tired, and run down, and it would have been really easy to just stay home.  But I am always glad to be there when I do go, so I pressed myself a bit and went.

And I’m so happy that I did – the topic was Rescue Techniques.  I learned how to pick up dropped stitches with a crochet hook. And how to drop a small group of stitches down several rows to fix a problem – and then how to knit just those stitches back up.  And how to fix a mis-crossed cable.  And … I don’t even know what else!  A lot, though.  It may all sound like very routine stuff, and it probably is – but I didn’t know how to do any of it before this meeting, and now I do.

All of which is to say that the meeting recharged my inner knitter.  I came home and picked up the sweater the very next night.  I’m past the sleeveholes now, and feel like I can finish the thing in time for the May meeting.

(I took this last Thursday, when I took the day off, shipped my kids to my mother-in-laws, and did a lot of nothing.  My favorite kind of mental-health day.)

I’ve been so recharged, in fact, that I even started a new out-and-about project:

I think the drought is over…

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 24, 2012 2:28 pm

    Sooooo….what are the projects? 🙂

Leave a Reply

