Skip to content

2012.02.13

February 13, 2012

So we were supposed to get several inches of snow on Saturday – I was very much looking forward to a weekend with noplace to go.  Unfortunately the storm zigged instead of zagged, and we got a little drizzle.  Boo.

Another disappointment?  I’ve hit a bump in the road in the early going on the Going Green sweater.  To the extent that I’m almost positive I’m going to rip it out and use the yarn for another pattern.

As you may know, I do most of my knitting after the kids go to sleep.  Which means that on a good night I have about an hour of knitting time.

Going Green (which I have to say, is a beautiful sweater from an even more beautiful book) starts off by casting on 641 stitches.

It took me three nights to get through the casting on.  And then a row a night, so that on Saturday afternoon I had three rows finished for a week of knitting.  And then…

…in the process of sliding my stitches around the cable needle, the cable and its metal connector separated.  And stitches fell off.

Not all 641, but enough that there was no saving it.  I had to rip it out and start over.

I have redone the cast on now, but it’s been in timeout since then.

I don’t think I have it in me to knit a sweater at a rate of one row per night…Not at this stage of family life, at least.

Sigh.

So now I’m looking at other patterns – I definitely want a cardigan, and I definitely want to use the yarn I got for Christmas, which is DK weight.  Leaving and Acer are on my short list at the moment.  We’ll see.

In the meantime I do have a small project on the go, for Easter.  I hope to have something to show later this week.

Speaking of something to show!  Larson is now tall enough to reach the dining room table.  And he loves pizza boxes for some reason.  Here’s what happens when the two are combined.

“ooh!  a pizza box!”


“ooh! another pizza box!”


“I’ll come back for that other one later”


“Hmm, where should I put these?”


“This seems like a good place”

 

Repeat, repeat, repeat.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

