Skip to content

2012.02.10

February 10, 2012

Two finished objects for you today:

First, a skirt:  the mighty Lanesplitter.


Super easy to knit, super comfortable to wear.  So cozy and warm!  Although I clearly need some styling help – despite looking like support hose, the tights are actually rusty-pinky-terracotta.  And a better top selection might have been nice.  Ah well, I’ll be wearing the skirt for years to come, so there’s no rush to get the accessorizing right the first time.


Needless to say, I was a little bit pleased with myself in the office yesterday.

I also finished the Escargot hat last Friday, and blocked it out over the weekend.  It took forEVER to dry, so I couldn’t sew it up until Monday night.

This project was not without its challenges – as written, it came out much too long (ie, falling over my eyes).  I had to rip back to almost 2 inches before the decreases to get it right.  And then it grew a bit in blocking (that’s on me, I should have known), so now it’s closer to a bucket hat than to a cloche.

(With that said, the pattern is great – well written, easy to understand, straightforward to execute.)

But it’s still super cute, and at least now I don’t have to be very precise when putting it on – wherever the flower/snail ends up, it ends up; it looks adorable (if I may say so) regardless of placement.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 13, 2012 1:58 pm

    Nice job Dina! The long hair looks nice too!

Leave a Reply

