Skip to content

2012.01.13

January 13, 2012

Larry and I signed up for the online Weight Watchers program this week; we both have not too much weight to lose, but we feel like having a structure is our best bet.

It’s been a long time since I’ve been on the formal program, and it’s changed a lot; fruits and vegetables are 0 points, for example – but oatmeal (formerly 1 or 2) is now 4.  So there’s an adjustment factor, but we’ll see how it goes.

Anyhoo, we’re experimenting with various recipes and so forth.  And this week I made Cauliflower Steaks.

There was a recipe in Bon Appetit, and I started there and made my own little riff.

I seared it on either side, then put it in the oven.   I cut some broccoli into small pieces, and tossed it together with the bits of cauliflower that fell off when I cut it, along with some Italian seasoning and olive oil.  I stir-fried the broccoli and cauliflower in the pan I had seared the cauliflower in, and heated up some extra tomato sauce.  All in all it took less than a half-hour, and it was delicious.  Pretty on the plate, even.


The only thing I might do differently next time, is I might not bother with the searing next time – putting it into the oven will probably brown it up just as much, and that’s one less pan to wash later…

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.