Skip to content

2012.01.10

January 10, 2012

Knitters almost universally look forward to January.

With the holidays and holiday-gift-knitting behind us, it’s time to take a little breather and knit for pleasure.  And, often, for ourselves.

Some people call it January Selfish Knitting.  I think of it more as January Reward Knitting, but hey – tomayto, tomahto.

At any rate I finished the last bit of gift knitting on the 23rd, and started a project for myself the very same evening.

Fast-forward a couple of weeks, and I’m a little more than halfway through knitting my very first skirt.

The pattern is Lanesplitter, from Knitty; the yarn is Chroma, from Knitpicks.  As the pattern is written, you cast on a few stitches, constantly increasing until you reach a certain length, at which point you begin constantly decreasing.

After browsing a few projects on Ravelry, I realized that I didn’t like the way the seam lined up.

Luckily, neither did other people – other people smarter than me.

Other people smarter than me who took the time to write up their modifications.

So I’m using the seamless instructions, and am loving the results.  Although on Sunday I noticed that the yarn wasn’t contrasting quite as much as I’d like – so I cut 5 or 6 yards or so out of one skein of yarn.  Hopefully that will make enough of a difference.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

