Skip to content

2011.08.27

August 27, 2011

Here we are, on the brink of Hurricane Irene.

The rain started about three hours ago, and it’s been varying in intensity since.  We had a bit of a thunderstorm at one point – I hadn’t factored in a thunderstorm as being part of a hurricane – and we lost the cable for a bit, but the storm subsided and the cable returned.

I like a good storm, and I hope we’re getting a storm that’s intense and damaging enough to justify the four days’ worth of media attention.  But I’m also a born cynic, and a classic New Englander – I can’t imagine this thing living up to all its hype, and on the off chance it does, we’ll get through it with a minimum of fuss.   In any case, I don’t want any lives to be lost, or any catastrophic damage.  Not here, not anywhere.

But in the meantime, until the storm passes we’re hunkered down.  I did grocery shopping this morning (went to the liquor store yesterday), Alistair and I went to the crafts store earlier today, and I gassed up the car.  All of the outdoor furniture has been secured.

We had BLTs for dinner.  Tomorrow we’re having chili – two dinners that involve stovetop cooking only, nothing to go in the oven or microwave.  Because we have a gas range, but what if we lose electricity?

I pureed two pounds of plum tomatoes earlier this afternoon and froze it (it yielded a little over 1 1/4 pounds of puree) to make room for a couple extra gallons of (tap) water in the fridge.  Again, just in case.

So here we are.  Home with the family, with nowhere to go, and I couldn’t be happier.  We’re even chipping away at the ever-growing honeydoo list !

And obviously, there’s knitting.

See you on the other side.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

