Skip to content

2011.08.23

August 23, 2011

We are still loving the CSA experience… aside from the joy of super-fresh produce, it’s forcing us out of our comfort zone just a little bit.  We have no trouble with massive quantities of peppers and tomatoes, but a constant influx of eggplant and zucchini is forcing us to get creative.

For instance, we had ratatouille last night.

Disney references aside, ratatouille is a simple vegetable stew.  I made mine in the crockpot, using this recipe.

On Sunday I spent a half-hour or so slicing veggies and layering them into the crock.  I stashed it in the fridge overnight, and turned the crockpot onto low before I left for work.

Granted, my knife skills aren’t necessarily all that they should be, but nonetheless my crockpot was filled to bursting – literally.


Nothing that 8 hours on low can’t remedy, of course.

ohhhh, mama.

Scooped onto and mixed into a bowl of egg noodles, it was a thing of simple beauty.  Larry had two big helpings, Alistair cleaned his plate, and even Larson licked his chops after every scoop.  I had to sneak into the kitchen and score myself a lunch portion to bring to the office tomorrow.

What was a surprise to me, was how similar the taste is to cacciatore – considering they only have tomatoes and peppers in common, I hadn’t expected that.

My only regret?  That it doesn’t use potatoes – we’re getting pounds and pounds of them every week.

Anyone got an assortment of potato recipes up their sleeves?

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 24, 2011 3:58 pm

    I’ve got a rockin’ roasted potato recipe!

Leave a Reply

