Skip to content

2011.06.14

June 14, 2011

It’s been a few months since I’ve given you an update on my various experiments in clean living, so I think it’s high time for an update.

I admit I’ve switched back to using shower soap.  But it’s not standard lye-based soap – I found one that’s made of olive oil, water and salt.  It gives a bit of lather, and has a nice scent; I’m pretty happy with it.

I have switched over to a more natural deodorant – but I am trying my own little experiment, and not using anything over the weekend.  So far I haven’t noticed an appreciable difference on the weekends, but it hasn’t reached critical levels of heat/humidity yet, either.

I bought a bottle of argan oil a while ago, and tried using it in place of the hair oil I’d been using.  Turns out that argan oil is the fifth ingredient of the hair oil.  I find the argan oil too heavy to use in my hair, but it’s great on my skin – I use it to shave my legs with.  I read somewhere that even grapeseed oil was good for you, so I bought a four-ounce bottle of it for $5 (in the skincare section at the grocery store, I imagine the food-grade version is even cheaper) and I find it works perfectly in my hair – and exponentially cheaper than the $40 I paid for the other hair oil, to boot.

Still on the search for a clean shampoo that will clean my hair…Pretty gunshy about even trying anything else, in truth.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

