Skip to content

2011.03.28

March 28, 2011

I bought a coconut at the grocery store this week.

I am not a big fan, but Larry is.  And as for Alistair, he’s had dried coconut, and coconut ice cream, and coconut cream pie, but never fresh coconut.

So for $2 I figured I’d give him a thrill.   He was sooo excited when I pulled it out of the bag.  So excited, in fact, that I decided to drag things out as long as possible.  You know, build anticipation and stuff.

So I told him we’d have to clean the living room before we could break it open.  And while most of his responsibilities involved which toys to keep and which to donate, he didn’t complain about the process.

Finally the time came.

Larry broke out the power tools

drained the coconut water

then cut it in half


Before smashing it up and scooping out the meat.

Alistair’s reaction?


Mixed.  I think it wasn’t as sweet as he’d expected, and he didn’t seem to be thrilled with the texture.

Nonetheless, for an afternoon of cleaning up without complaint, I’m calling it $2 well spent.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

