Skip to content

2011.03.01

March 1, 2011

So, I’ve been sneakily doing the Meatless Monday thing at home for the past few weeks.  It’s mostly an extension of my personal attempt at a “vegetarian before 6” diet, which by the way has done nothing to help jumpstart my weight loss…

But I digress.

When I started this little experiment I was worried it would wind up being Pasta Mondays, but in fact it’s turning into Soup Mondays.  Last week I made pasta e fagioli, last night I made a black bean soup.  I really need to broaden my horizons.

Anyway, I cobbled this recipe together from a number of other recipes, but it’s good enough that I thought I’d post it here for ya.  Supremely easy, very tasty, and reasonably healthy.

Black Bean Soup

2 15-ounce cans of black beans, unrinsed

1 15-ounce can of corn, unrinsed (not creamed corn)

1 cup of salsa of your choice

3+/- cups of chicken broth (or vegetable broth, or even beef broth)

a pinch each of cumin, basil and oregano

Mozzarella or queso fresco, for topping (optional)

 

  1. Combine all ingredients except cheese into a stock pot.  Heat, stirring occasionally.
  2. Ladle into individual bowls and top with cheese.

Can’t beat two step recipes…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

