Skip to content

2011.02.17

February 17, 2011

As I’m sure I’ve mentioned before, I’m a sucker for the Daily Grommet.  And although I’ve managed to rein in my burning need to buy everything they highlight, I still hang on every word of their posts.

So last week, when they highlighted this argan-oil based skincare line, I – knowing that my beloved hair oil (also a Daily Grommet) is also based on argan oil, I was intrigued.

Then I followed the link to the blog post “Top Five Tips for Winter Skin Woes” and was double-intrigued.  By the time I got to Tip 4 (“Eat More Fats”), I was hooked.

That post was written by two women who just wrote a book, and run a blog.  So I let my fingers do the walking over there…

And one thing led to another.  I after reading the post about the results of their no-soap challenge, I was hooked.  I requested their book from the library (just got it yesterday, actually).  I subscribed to their blog and their twitter feed.

And now I have a confession to make.  I haven’t used soap since last Thursday, except to wash my hands.

Showered, yes.  Soap, no.  Deodorant, yes.

And you know what?  My skin is smoother and not nearly as dry.  Interesting….

Know what else?  I don’t stink.  I’ve made my husband, my son, and poor CC take a good whiff at various times over the past week, and nobody could tell that I hadn’t used soap.  Astonishing!

So astonishing that I don’t think I’m going to go back to using soap in the shower on a regular basis.

The book also talks about not using shampoo.  Not entirely sure if I’m there yet….

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 8:25 pm

    I am horrified and intrigued. I too hate dry winter skin…..Hmmm.

Leave a Reply

