Skip to content

2011.01.22

January 23, 2011

Cold weekend! Aside from a couple quick errands on Saturday, I didn’t leave the house – we had nowhere pressing to go, for one thing, and when you’ve got to bundle up an infant and a small child, you can talk yourself out of almost anything.

I finished a belated birthday hat over the past week (six weeks late, sigh).

So I was itching for a new project by Friday night.   I got two sweaters’ worth of yarn at last spring’s guild auction, and I figure it’s that time of year. After some Ravelry searching, I wound off the six skeins of Camden Cotton, a mercerized cotton from Classic Elite in a pretty blue-green, with visions of a nice summer pullover dancing in my head.

For once I worked up a swatch, and boy, am I glad I did.

First of all, the needle suggested in the pattern I chose was way oversized, gauge-wise. Second, by the time I DID get gauge, two needle sizes down, I realized that my hands were taking a beating. Undaunted, I pressed on and started the ribbed border. About an inch into that I gave way to the inevitable: there’s no way I can work with this yarn for an entire sweater.

I guess I just don’t work with cotton enough to realize how tough it is.  This particular yarn is cabled and mercerized. It’s sturdy and has a beautiful sheen to it, but no give whatsoever.

I’ve got to figure out what to do with it. It’s so pretty I don’t want to let it go to waste.

But that’s a project for another day; for now, I’m back to having an itch to scratch. I need to cast on for something, pronto.

And with the weather being what it is, I’m thinking something warm.  Maybe a hat?   But I’ve made so many hats lately, plus I still love the one I made last year.  And the matching mittens, so probably not mittens.

Come to think of it, when I get good and bundled up, the only part of me that’s still cold is my legs.  Maybe a pair of legwarmers is in order…I’ve got plenty of bulky wool in the stash, I might just try to knock some out real quick….

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

