Skip to content

2011.01.19

January 19, 2011

Today is Day Two of my return to work.

Yesterday’s morning commute was terrible; the dreaded “wintry mix” made for slick roads and tentative driving conditions – which was actually a blessing for me.  I had to concentrate on driving, and couldn’t dwell on what/whom I was driving away from.  I called to check in at lunchtime, and things were reportedly fine at home.

This morning I was distracted by getting not just myself, but also the Peep out the door; dropping him at school and recalculating my commute from school, rather than from home, served to distract me again.

All of which is to say that I haven’t yet cried my way into the office this week.

Still, by the middle of the afternoon on both days, I’ve been missing my boys quite a bit.  I’m sure I’ll get better, once the routine becomes routine again.  And in truth it’s been kind of nice to sit in one spot for an hour at a time, and to be able to concentrate on only one thing at a time.

Who knew uni-tasking could be so luxurious?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

