Skip to content

2010.12.02

December 2, 2010

I figured out last night that if I knit 10 rounds on Larry’s socks every day, I’ll finish them on Christmas Eve.  Here’s hoping I can manage more than that, although yesterday I was hard pressed to get to 10.

Halfway through my maternity leave, the biggest surprise to me is how busy I am every day.  I swear I don’t know how I’ll manage to go back to work, haha.

The other thing is how small my world has become.  Most days – most weeks, even – the only non-relatives I speak to are the other parents at preschool pick-up and drop-off.  Oh, I’m in touch with all my friends, but it’s mostly through email and Facebook.  If it wasn’t for the knitting guild once a month, and my friends periodically dragging me out, I would become a complete shut-in.  Well, except for errands, but errands don’t count as either voluntary or recreational.

And the fact is, I don’t really mind.  Don’t get me wrong – by the time Larry gets home from work I’m ready to hand him the baby and hide upstairs alone for a while.  But it doesn’t drive me out of the house like it used to.  I’m pretty content here in the friendly confines.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

