Skip to content

2010.11.29

November 29, 2010

Christmas is less than a month away.  Crazy, right?

I’m happy to say that, thanks to my summer knitting, my holiday knitting is 98% finished.  The ornaments have been distributed, the hats are ready to be wrapped, and all that’s left is to whip up a pair of socks for Larry.  Unfortunately I seem to have lost my sock mojo – I blame the socks I just finished.

They are beautiful, to be sure, and not particularly complicated.  But they are almost entirely 1×1 rib, which has now been added to my list of “things I try to avoid knitting in large doses”.

Still, I will grit my teeth, hike up my figurative skirt, and make one last pair of socks in 2010.  Mostly because I refuse to let this particular Christmas tradition fall by the wayside.  Whether or not anyone else will notice.

Speaking of traditions, the Elf has made his triumphant return to our house.  The Peep schooled the Peanut in all things Jake-the-Elf, and for the past few days all it takes is a “Jake is watching you…” to get him to behave.  At least for a few minutes.

Christmas shopping is something like 80% finished, too, which is a relief.  I hate crowds and malls at the best of times, so the whole online/catalog shopping thing really works for me.  I try to make an idea list for gifts starting in like September, so as the catalogs come in and I see something that ‘fits’, I either bookmark it, or add it to my Evernote list (love love love Evernote, I have it installed on every device I own, as well as on my work laptop), and then when the time comes I’m good to go, and limited only by cash flow.  Which is the one and only reason why I’m 80% finished, rather than 100%.  Still, plenty of time to get it all done.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

