Skip to content

2010.10.13

October 14, 2010

My weekly doctor’s appointment didn’t shed any light on the baby’s timeline…could be in the next half-hour, could be this time next week.  sigh.

In the meantime I’m winding things down at the office; my last day of work is tomorrow, and after that the waiting game begins in earnest.

So for the most part all I’m doing at this point is eating.  And looking at knitting patterns.  And trying to avoid obsessing about just when this baby is going to decide to join us.

I made a Mexican-style lentil and black bean stew on Monday night.  This is another one of those recipes I tried for the first time, and I think I’ll switch things up a bit next time.   It smelled like heaven while it was cooking, and even the next day it tasted great, but on the night I made it, it was very bland.  There’s some sort of kitchen science mojo there that I’m missing, I think – it’s the same phenomenon that makes soups and stews and lasagna better on Day 2.  I wonder if either next time I purposely make it the day before, or maybe try it in the crockpot instead, whether that would make a difference.

On Tuesday we had steak and broccoli.  Usually I’ll just steam the broccoli in the microwave (those steam bags are AWESOME), but to switch things up I tried this recipe instead.  In retrospect I’m not convinced it was worth the extra effort, but it wasn’t bad or anything.

Tonight it’s American Chop Suey.  By rights I should be going to my Guild meeting, but I can already tell I’m not going to want to leave the house once I get home.

As for knitting, I’m an inch away from finishing the Peep’s Christmas socks, and I’m torn between starting a pair for the Peanut, or for Larry.  A pair for the Peanut would take almost no time, while a pair for Mr. Size 11 would take a lot longer (obviously).  Eh, we’ll see what sort of mood I’m in when the time comes.

I’m also on a binge of wanting to make a cozy cardigan – something to do with the prospect of wearing comfy/sloppy clothes for the next several months, no doubt.  Interestingly, two attractive options have popped into my email box over the past week – both free patterns, and both involving yarn of a weight and quantity that I have in my stash.


Aidez, from Berrocco, which has a big beautiful cable in the back, too (click the link to see all the glorious details).

Anise, from Rowan (by way of Yarn.com), which just looks sooo cozy.

Both are made with super-bulky yarn, which leads me to believe they’d go quickly.  The real question is – do I think I’ll have the capacity for big-project knitting while I’m on maternity leave?  Quickly followed by, which one will it be?  Because I have only enough super-bulky in the house for one cardigan…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cathy permalink
    October 16, 2010 8:55 am

    We did miss you Thursday night! We do understand the exhaustion and frustration at this stage of the waiting game!! Will be ‘checking in’ on your blog for news of the baby’s official arrival. Cathy

Leave a Reply

