Skip to content

2010.09.27

September 27, 2010

I’m still hanging in here.  My due date is 26 days away, but I can’t even imagine lasting that much longer.  But if I can get through the next 10 days, I’ll be thrilled.

The house is getting close to ready.  The baby’s room is nearly there – I want to buy a rug, but certainly if the baby comes before that happens, it’s not the end of the world.  The furniture, bedding, and clothes are all good to go.

I really want to have the downstairs as close to immaculate as I can before I have the baby.  Which sounds stupid on many levels, I know.  But I figure I’m going to have an onslaught of visitors in the first few weeks, and you and I both know that there’s no way I’ll be doing any massive cleaning during that time.  So in my feeble brain I figure if the house is clean beforehand, the decline and fall of said clean might be a bit slower than it would be otherwise.

So we’ll see how that goes.

I’m sorry to say that I’ve sort of lost momentum on the Hillflowers scarf.  I did cast on for the second half, and worked I think half a repeat.  But for whatever reason – and I really can’t put my finger on it – I just can’t bring myself to pick it up.  Which is a shame because (a) if I worked on it consistently I bet I could have it done in a week or so, and (b) I can’t imagine having the time or concentration to finish, graft, and block a lacework project once the baby comes.  Sigh…maybe I’ll get motivated tonight.

But that’s not to say I haven’t been knitting.  On Friday night I started a pair of socks for the Peep.  And not just any pair of socks, either.  Two at a time socks.  Not just any pair of two at a time socks, either – two at a time socks from the toe up.

I bought the book last spring, and have been biding my time ever since.  I’ve made toe-up socks once before, and those were pretty fiddly – but two at a time toe-up socks might be the fiddliest thing I’ve tried so far.  I’m past the toe increases now, and am midway to the heel, so it’s not too bad.   I’ve made the Peep try them on twice so far, and he thinks it’s about the funniest thing ever – especially when it was just 10 rows of toe increases.

Thinking analytically about it, I should probably put the socks into my hospital bag, and finish the lace while I can.

Whether or not I will actually do so, however, remains to be seen.  Stay tuned.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

