Skip to content

2010.09.15

September 15, 2010

The Peep starts pre-K in a couple of weeks, 9-11:30 3 times a week.

Since I already have plenty of mommyguilt for a variety of reasons, I changed my work schedule to be able to drop him off every morning.  For the rest of the 2010-2011 school year I’ll be working 9:30-5:30 four days a week (keeping Tuesdays as my at-home day).

The new schedule started last week.  I figured it would take me a couple of weeks to get things settled into their new routine, especially since there’s still no telling when the new baby is coming.

Last week was mostly a wash – between the holiday weekend, and a big meeting in the office, and a half-day off to tend to some personal maintenance, I left the house later than usual, but still earlier than I would ordinarily.  I managed to leave the office at the new, later time, but to call the evenings chaotic would be too kind.

So far this week I’ve been trying to leave the house at 9 or so, trying to figure out how long the commute would take.  Granted, it’s only been two days, but it’s been pretty solidly between 20-25 minutes.   Also granted, that’s departing from the house – school is a few minutes in the opposite direction.  Tomorrow, hopefully Friday, and if necessary a few days next week I’m going to leave the house before 9, swing past the school, and figure out the best route to get heeyah from theeyah.  We’ll see.

Before I started this whole exercise I was worried about the mornings – hadn’t focused on the evenings at all.  Turns out the evenings are the biggest adjustment:  we all still get up at the same time, and the Peep and I are usually ready and downstairs at about the same time.  But the evenings are shot.  Larry’s at the mercy of the T now, and neither of us get home much before 6.  Which means that if we start dinner immediately, we’re eating after 6:30 if we’re lucky.  Which means that after-dinner family time is at a premium, and that in turn translates into a struggle at bedtime.

So this week I’m trying something different.  Using the 20-30 minute window of opportunity in the mornings, I’ve been getting some things ready for dinner in advance.  Nothing terribly elaborate – Monday was chicken stir fry, so I cut up the veggies and the chicken and tossed them into the fridge.  This morning I put a pork tenderloin into the crockpot.  Still, that’s 20-30 minutes saved at night, and I suspect will be the difference between our usual level of chaos and full-on catastrophe.

If I can keep it up.  As with everything else, time will tell…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

