Skip to content

2010.08.31

August 31, 2010

Behold!  The last two Christmas hats are finished at last!

After finishing those, I started directly on to the Christmas ornaments for all – and finished those Saturday afternoon:

I think next year the kids are all getting just ornaments; they seem to care a lot more about them than the actual knitted objects, and ornaments take a fraction of the time.  And I have to believe the premium on my free time will only increase once the baby comes.

And for decades afterward.

Also, I finally got the boys out onto the porch to take some photos of the nursing wrap.

It’s very airy and stretchy, but at the same time very cozy.  And I love the color and the texture.

I still need to weave in all the ends and add the toggles.

On Sunday I spent a happy hour winding off the yarn for the rest of my 2010 knitting.  I wound off the Road to China Light I bought in Maine (I love how the photo shows 3 skeins, but I blathered on about only having 2 skeins/300 yards – simpleton! – but I actually have 450 yards).   I figure the last project I start before the baby comes should be somewhat intricate, since I will almost certainly lack the brainpower to do anything complicated afterwards.  Still trying to pin down the proper pattern.

Also wound off the Cascade Legacy I bought at Webs last spring:

Which will be more than enough to make socks for all four of us Smiths.  And will be mindless enough for maternity-leave knitting.

There are two other women expecting babies in my office – both boys, too – so I want to knock off a couple of quick baby hats in the next couple of days.  Which will buy me some time to decide on my next project.

I’ve got to say I’m a little puffed up with myself, having my Christmas knitting wrapped up before Labor Day…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

