Skip to content

2010.08.27

August 27, 2010

I figure it’s high time to come clean and show you what-all I bought in Portland; I hit two of the three yarn shops over the course of the weekend.

First, we stopped into Tess Designer Yarns – only a block from our hotel, how could I resist?  Everything in the shop is hand-dyed.  It was dicey, but I managed to restrain myself, and only bought two skeins of fingering/sock weight.

Supersock & Baby

Twinkle Toes

Unfortunately I have no clue what the color names or numbers are…nor do I have projects in mind for either of them.

On Sunday after we climbed the Observatory we had to stop at KnitWits.  I mean, we walked right past it – twice! – how could I not?

They are currently the only physical store that carries the highly-vaunted Quince & Co line of yarns.   Worth the price of admission in and of itself, for sure.  I petted fondled touched every line, and oh my, how soft and cushy it all is.   I managed to control myself, and stuck to a few skeins of sportweight.

Chickadee

The colorway is called ‘Chanterelle’, and that perfectly captures the color – much better than my photo – it’s a lovely greyish-tan.  I got five skeins, which comes up to about 900 yards.  Which is way too much for the average scarf/wrap/shawl, and not nearly enough for a sweater.  Sigh.  I can’t win.  Maybe two wraps?  We’ll see…

Lastly, I had my first in-person encounter with yarn from The Fibre Company.  This is also sportweight, as it turns out.

Road To China Light

The colorway is ‘Sapphire’, and two skeins gives me a hair over 300 yards.  That’s got lacy scarf written all over it, dontcha think?

All in all, I bought (and spent, sigh) slightly more than I’d intended.  But all of this stuff is Maine-based (well, apparently The Fibre Company is no longer based in Portland, but it only recently moved), and not available in my local stores.  Besides, as the lovely woman in KnitWits said, “No sense in buying Cascade 220 on vacation”.

I couldn’t agree more.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

