Skip to content

2010.08.23

August 23, 2010

Back from Portland early yesterday evening.  I’m working from home today, have to be live and in-person in the office tomorrow (boo).

But it all works out, gives me a chance to slightly decompress before I really get into the grind.  Somehow even with the Peep underfoot, and doing housework in between my actual work, I am a lot more productive on the days I’m at home.

Now, about Portland.  It’s a nice little city, certainly walkable, and we didn’t really miss the luxury of the car at all.  The train was definitely the way to go – our hotel is the only one that offers free parking to guests, and there didn’t seem to be a ton of municipal lots around – and scouring the town for a parking spot isn’t my idea of a vacation weekend.

We estimate that we walked between 3 and 4 miles each day.  I’m not going to lie, I was knackered by dinnertime, but I’m going to chalk that up to being 8 months pregnant.  I’m proud to say that the Peep kept up with us like a champ, despite not being terribly interested in things.

And that’s the biggest detraction of the weekend – and a complete lapse on my part.  While he was pretty well-behaved throughout the weekend, he wasn’t terribly engaged at any point, either.  He enjoyed the SeaDogs game, and parts of the Duck Tour, and swimming in the hotel pool, the rest of our time was spent mostly walking around town.  Not a great kid’s vacation – and a mistake I won’t be making again.  From now on, our family vacations are going to have to be kid-centric, period.

Photos to follow tomorrow.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

