Skip to content

2010.08.18

August 18, 2010

Do you remember this from last summer?

Well, after a year-plus of loving and snuggling (for which, read “cuddling and pulling and tugging and biting), here’s what it looked like when we left for vacation:

(sorry for the greenish tint, we were in a screen porch).

Having been forwarned, and knowing that I wouldn’t be able to wrestle it away from its owner for very long, I worked up a square with the beige yarn before we left and brought it along.  After adding another few inches to the square, and sort of carefully seaming them together, here’s what it looked like at the end of vacation (again in the screen porch):

Not spectacular, but at least no longer a strangulation hazard.  I’ve told my sister-in-law that if it gets torn again, she’s on her own.

While I’m at it, my other vacation knitting was finished a day or two after vacation, but I only seamed it and put the buttons on the other night:

Larry vetoed the buttons I’d bought for this originally, so I had to substitute, but I think these are just fine too.

And lastly, I finally FINALLY finished the nursing wrap this past Sunday.  I don’t have any photos of it, because frankly I forgot to take any.  I’ll try to get Larry to give me a hand tonight, and hopefully will have some to show you tomorrow.

I am so happy to be finished with that project – even though I love the way it turned out, and I expect to get plenty of use out of it.  I really need to be a little smarter when choosing projects going forward.  Or at least consider the consequences of my choices at the outset.  Like, I know I hate miles of stockinette, and also patterns that don’t involve variety, so I should either limit myself to smaller projects containing either, or steer clear of them entirely.

So I started the next-to-last Christmas hat Monday night, and began the decrease rounds last night.  I plan to finish it tonight, and bring the last Christmas hat with me this weekend.  When I come back, I’ll get the mini ornaments out of the way, and I expect to have all of my Christmas knitting over with by Labor Day weekend.  Huzzah!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

