Skip to content

2010.07.29

July 29, 2010

So, after a whopping four days with the Nook, I’m pleased to say I’m fairly pleased with it.

Which is not to say that there isn’t room for improvement, but on the whole, I like it.

My decision-making process went something like this:

iPad, Kindle, or Nook? The iPad is two/four times as expensive as either of the other two, and is essentially a glorified iPhone.  Guess what?  I already have an iPhone.  Advantage:  Kindle or Nook

Okay, so the Kindle vs the Nook.

Corporate Relationship: Kindle works with Amazon.  I love Amazon.  Nook works with Barnes & Noble.  I’m always happy to go to a bookstore, and I do like B&N’s when I visit them, but the nearest ones are either downtown (where I never am) or 10 miles away (where I rarely am).  And if I’m buying a book online, chances are I’m buying it from Amazon.  Advantage:  Kindle

Content: The Kindle supports eBooks from Amazon, eBooks from GoogleBooks, and pdfs that you upload to it.  The Nook supports eBooks from B&N, eBooks from GoogleBooks, pdfs that you upload to it – plus audiobooks from Audible.com, and audio- and e-books from the Overdrive library network.  Since I get most of my books from the library now, that last one is not to be overlooked.  The Nook also has LendMe capability, so that you can ‘lend’ a book you’ve downloaded to a friend (who also has a Nook) for them to read for 14 days at no cost.  That’s kind of cool, I think.  Advantage:  Nook

Connectivity: The $189 Kindle supports 3G (you have to shell out $389 to get WiFi).  The $149 Nook is WiFi only, or for $199 you can have 3G and Wifi.  For an extra $10, I’m all about the options.  Advantage:  Nook

(Apparently they announced today that the nextgen $189 Kindle will be 3G and Wifi, and is coming August 27th – you can’t even buy the current version online.  And in full disclosure, the Nook and my home wifi connection aren’t the best of friends so far – I’m hoping they’ll get along better as time goes on.  But, the 3G network does load content pretty quickly.  Would that have impacted my decision?  Read on…)

Other: The Nook has an expandable memory slot, and a replaceable battery.  The Kindle has neither, although its onboard memory has more than twice the capacity of the Nook.  Advantage:  tie

Look/Feel: Weeelll, this is purely subjective.  I went to Target to check out the Kindle.  They had it so tightly tethered to the display that I actually had to brace my arm to hold it up at reading length, so I have absolutely no sense of how heavy/light it is, or would be over time.  Also, the display unit was NOT a working unit, so I wasn’t able to try the interface at all.   Drove around the rotary to Best Buy to check out the Nook, and while it too was tethered to the display, it was a nice loose cable.  I got to hold it, switch it from hand to hand, turn it over, etc.  Further, it was a working unit, so I dinked around with the interface for a few minutes, and my decision was made.  Advantage:  Nook

There is a learning curve to the thing, I’m not gonna lie.  For one thing, I’m very used to the iPhone interface, and sliding/swiping my finger across the display.  The Nook does use that same motion, but only on the bottom navigation menu; you can swipe across the main screen all the live long day, and all you’re gonna get is a grimy screen.

Also, the screen saver stays on until the next time you wake it up, whether that’s an hour, a day, or a week later.  The manual says there’s no real need to turn it off off, that the saver uses a minimal amount of power to maintain itself.  I find that unsettling, but that may just be me.

The Nook was half-charged when I got it home, and I let it fully charge up before I even touched it.  Four days later – four days in which I’ve used it for at least an hour each day, and frequently with the wifi on – and the battery is at 50% charge remaining.  Vacations aside, I can’t imagine getting more than an hour or so a day on it, and so having to charge it once a week seems reasonable to me.

To upload pdfs, media from Overdrive, or music, you have to connect it to a computer, which is a minor inconvenience.  On the other hand – Overdrive aside (although I have yet to get a book from them, so I may eat my words here) – I can’t imagine having to upload things to it all that often.

So there you have it, my harebrained line of reasoning on making such a purchase, and the first few days of using it.  I’m of course taking it with me on vacation, and if my opinion radically shifts because of that I’ll post another update; otherwise feel free to ping me with any questions/comments.

Speaking of vacation, not sure if I’ll post again before I go; if not, have a wonderful week, and see you in August.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 30, 2010 3:52 pm

    Have a great week Dina! I won’t be seeing you though. Work is unfortunately a priority right now as I head on vacation the next week. You can be sure I’ll be up there next year no matter what – got to meet that new baby! Have a wonderful vacation!

Leave a Reply

