Skip to content

2010.07.19

July 19, 2010

The annual company outing was as much fun as it always is, despite me being a spectator for most of the day.  All except the eating, in fact.  Nonetheless, a day away from the office is a day away from the office, particularly in mid-July, so you won’t hear any complaints from me.

The evening all-family event was no less fabulous; aside from everything else (pool, contests, social relaxation, etc), the food was catered by Firefly’s.

Nuff said.

The feed-bag extravaganza continued, for me at least, for part of the weekend.  I met CC and Veronica for brunch/lunch on Saturday, which we capped by breaking in a new bakery in Milton (Cakes, whose website is still under construction).  I had an individual Boston Cream Pie and a Raspberry Lime Rickey smoothie.

And yes, it was just as fantastic as it looks.

In between Saturday feedings, we went to the yarn shop, and I finally FINALLY was able to buy all the buttons I’ve been meaning to.

Remember this?


At the rate I’m going, it will be fully complete just in time for winter 2010-2011.


I’ve actually been wearing this without buttons, but it tends to slip down my shoulders; it will be much more comfortable with just one or two buttons done up.

I also bought toggles for the in-progress wrap:

The pattern doesn’t call for any, and I’m not making buttonholes.  I’ll just scatter the toggles along one side, and then I’ll have the flexibility to fasten the thing wherever I choose.  If I so choose.  I finished the second skein of yarn last night, right around the 24-inch mark.  I think I’ll stop somewhere between 4 and 5 skeins in all, and the more I think about it, the less I think I’m going to block it at all.

Lastly, I bought a set of buttons to go with the vacation BSJ for the new baby:

The contrast between the buttons and the yarn may seem a bit jarring, but there are streaks of blue-green in the yarn, and I think as the sweater works up, the buttons will compliment them perfectly.

I would be remiss if I didn’t send out a special thanks to Veronica for help with the button selection; couldn’t have done it without her.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

