Skip to content

2010.07.06

July 6, 2010

Luckily, my schedule means I’m working at home today, so my re-entry into the working week is a slow and easy transition.

As I said, our weekend was pretty mellow and relaxed.  It was crazy hot, but there was a nice breeze in the yard all weekend.  Which is good, because that’s where we spent most of our time.

we ate pop-ices

“poolside”

Don’t laugh; our dinky blow-up pool is just right for days like this.   He splashes himself silly, and after sunset we use the water to keep the plants and lawn nice and healthy.  Did I mention it was only $12?

We didn’t get a nap on Sunday afternoon, so the Peep conked out around 8:30, and I struggled to stay awake for the fireworks broadcast.  Which was decidedly lackluster – the music selection was subpar IMO, and the visuals were just eh.  I think from now on I’ll either walk up the hill, or go to bed early.

The grill ran out of propane midway through dinner on Sunday, so on Monday we had to take the tank to be refilled.  We must have gotten a little twitterpated in the heat, because before we knew it we’d bought the Peep his first high-powered squirt gun (on clearance).

(Larry got his first one, too.)

This is a decision I will likely live to regret, but for the short term they’re enjoying the crap out of them.

Like I said, it was hot all weekend, but there was no humidity, and a nice breeze.  Today is even hotter, and muggy to boot.  My outdoor thermometer says it’s 99.3 out there, and with the humidity the heat index is something like 105.   I’ve got all three AC’s going right now and damn the electric bill!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 7, 2010 3:21 pm

    Nothing more fun than a squirt gun! My guess is you are the object of their attention!

Leave a Reply

